Time for Uncle “Taverner’s” reading list for young persons

by RadioFreeCalifornia

 

Each of these books affected me in a way that still shows up in my thought patterns, my concerns and my little empathies.

All of them deal with the human condition in some way or another.

My hope is that all people, not just young, enjoy these as did I.

 

A People’s History of the United States by Howard Zinn
Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail 72 by Hunter S Thompson
The Prince by Niccolo Machiavelli
The Kingdom of God is Within You (seriously) by Leo Tolstoy
Backlash by Susan Faludi
Stiffed by Susan Faludi
Jailbird by Kurt Vonnegut
Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut
Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut
Galapagos by Kurt Vonnegut
The Motorcycle Diaries by Che Guevara
Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemmingway
Death of a Salesman by Arthur Miller
Homage to Catalonia by George Orwell
One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
The Complete Calvin and Hobbes by Bill Watterson

and so it goes…

